Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Cut-Weld-Drive Forums (http://volksrods.com/forum/index.php)
-   The Cutting Board (http://volksrods.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   pinto motor in my bus?? (http://volksrods.com/forum/showthread.php?t=29191)

soulrider December 31st, 2009 11:51 AM

pinto motor in my bus??
 
OK GUYS.....
This is something I have been tossing around for a few years now is putting a pinto motor in my bus. has anyone seen this? done this? or know of anyone who has?

I have a 70 bus. I am going to lower it front and rear, I was thinking of running the rad on the roof on a rack or making a faux spare tire on the front with a small rad in there or something..... the idea is to make it look like it does not have a radiator.

I am thinking that, the mounting of the motor, and exhaust are going to be the hardest things. They sell the adaptors for the motor to trans mount, and the pinto motors are small enough to fit inside the engine bay with the lid closed, and I am not to worried about having to cut for the room above......so what do you all think? I need the input of the almighty volksrods dwellers :funny:

TeamEvil/TC December 31st, 2009 12:40 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
It's Easy Peasy !

Hit the Conversion Perversion area of the ShopTalkForums and you'll find more info that you can read in a week cover the ups and downs of the installation. There's even a lengthy thread on where to locate the radiator., my favorite being inside a fake spare tire mounted on the nose of the bus, as you're suggesting. They have that install covered.

These Volksrodders, for the most part, seem to have trouble finding the choke on the side of a Solex, you're just gonna get a lot of. "I once saw . . . " or "My Brother's friend . . . " kinda shit. Hit ShopTalk, you'll be way ahead and find out exactly what you need to know.

Luck, it's a common and neat swap!

TC


This will get you started:

http://www.shoptalkforums.com/viewto...713&hilit=ford

soulrider December 31st, 2009 03:32 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
sweet!!! I hope I can do it with out spending to much money :blink:

trikertroy December 31st, 2009 04:21 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
I stuck a Pinto in my 60 baja.. It worked very well... I just bolted to the trans with a KEP kit.. No rear engine mount, but I braced the heck out of the tranny horns.
The car was a big tin can with NO insulation and cut out firewall. When the engine hit a certain RPM it would send a bone shaking vibration thruout the car... Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr... The 4cyl inline and solid mounts may not be a really good idea.

Bugula December 31st, 2009 04:38 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
I saw a Ford 2.8 V6 in a Bus. Fit nice.

soulrider December 31st, 2009 05:51 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by trikertroy (Post 438696)
I stuck a Pinto in my 60 baja.. It worked very well... I just bolted to the trans with a KEP kit.. No rear engine mount, but I braced the heck out of the tranny horns.
The car was a big tin can with NO insulation and cut out firewall. When the engine hit a certain RPM it would send a bone shaking vibration thruout the car... Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr... The 4cyl inline and solid mounts may not be a really good idea.

I was going to make some urethane bushing mounts for it. and something else I forgot all about was I could actually have a working heater and defrost if I did this :dancing: We just had a snow storm here the other day and getting home was an adventure...... stopped traffic and snow just building up under and to the side of the wipers.... lol.... it was fun

gravguy January 1st, 2010 05:38 AM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
there are a few on this site

http://frost.bbboy.net/vwengineconversions

Jon January 1st, 2010 07:49 AM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
Isn't the 4 cyl. ford ranger the same motor ?

bigguy January 1st, 2010 07:52 AM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
Yep 2.3 ranger and pinto are near identical except head design changes through the years

HeidelbergJohn4.0 January 1st, 2010 12:54 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
4 cylinder mustangs also had the 2.3. Thunderbird turbo coupes and not as easy to find, but the SVO mustangs had a turbo version of the same 2.3 motor.

That little motor was a Ford workhorse for years. My friend Stu won 7 consecutive APBA national high point championships with pinto motors in his hydroplanes, and his wife and both kids have all won national championships with that same motor.

TeamEvil/TC January 1st, 2010 04:28 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
Here's a good cheap start for you!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/FORD-...item518f65a665

Have Shorty chop the guy down on the price, bop on over, grab it up, and send it off for you.

All you need is the pilot bearing and flywheel from KEP. With the price on this adapter, you're WAY ahead of the game.

CALIFKID January 1st, 2010 06:45 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gravguy (Post 438770)
there are a few on this site

http://frost.bbboy.net/vwengineconversions

Interesting!!!thanks!!:wink:

soulrider January 4th, 2010 07:44 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
I saw something that put me in another direction...... I am going to go with a VR6 motor.....I think..... I saw one in a 76 bus that rocked....youtube.... and I know a few people that are water cooled guys and they always have extra motors and stuff. So if I can get a wrecked whatever with a vr6 I just strip it out and :sawzall: :welder: :driving: and watch everyone I fly past go :Idunno:
I like those little smiles can you tell?

Kraut Taco January 4th, 2010 08:45 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
O/T - I had thought of putting a 1.8 turbo or Vr6 in my bug. But it's on a stand still for now.

BloodGuzzler January 5th, 2010 06:39 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
omfg wtf is with jons pic its a @$$ walking omg

soulrider January 5th, 2010 07:19 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kraut Taco (Post 439391)
O/T - I had thought of putting a 1.8 turbo or Vr6 in my bug. But it's on a stand still for now.

I have seen some guys.....since I have been looking into this..... That have put some 4cyl and even one vr6 in a bug. The only thing I see thats a problem is it sticks out past the lid. BUT I have seen where you can put a subie engine in a bug and with slight mods, you can use the original lid.

There is a lot more room in the bus for the "longer" engines.
I am not saying it cant be done and look good just saying it is a little more difficult.

That bug will RIP down the street though :grin:

soulrider January 5th, 2010 07:21 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
OH and by the way welcome bloodguzzler. I fucking love jon's avatar...... little waist and big bare ass walking along gets me all...... well you know!!

soulrider January 7th, 2010 12:27 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
I talked with a few guys I know about getting a vr6, the ecu and a bunch of other stuff. It's going to cost me a small fortune. SO.... I called my great uncle just to see what he has out at his shop and low and behold he has a carb'ed 2.3l ford sitting out there, needs a new cam and a carb rebuild.

He was going to put it in his nash metro but, went with a v6. so I am going to go with that. now I just need to find a rad, heater core, fab up some exhaust, and get the adapter.

WISH ME LUCK GUYS!!!

gravguy January 8th, 2010 04:52 AM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
ok you evil bastard i have now been watching videos of vr6 vw vans crawled under my bus and measured out how it will fit http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0o_UyeQm8s

Cat Box January 8th, 2010 10:17 AM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
looks like you are off to the U-Pull-It for some of the little bits.

soulrider January 8th, 2010 05:12 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
oh ya I will be hitting u-pull-it and my uncles place there are a few broke down vehicles out there... can u say redneck? AND yes.... I am an evil bastard but mostly a POOR BASTARD.

So hopefully this year at the volks show in woodburn I will be dragging my pinto powered bus down the strip :grin: or at least opening the hatch so people can see what I did.

OH and subaru motors fit nicely in a bus from what I have seen.

Cat Box January 9th, 2010 08:27 AM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
i will be there to race you with a fresh 1835 with DRD level 5 heads a 120 cam backed by a pro street Rancho transmission.

oh and if'n you need help just ask im not all that far away...as you know.

soulrider January 9th, 2010 05:19 PM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
catbox, doing some mods to the super? lol and ya when I start up the project if u want to come out and work on it with me ur more than welcome man!!

1965aaron January 10th, 2010 12:59 AM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
you should put the engine from the TDI in it!

the turbo diesel!

gravguy January 10th, 2010 01:07 AM

Re: pinto motor in my bus??
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 1965aaron (Post 440342)
you should put the engine from the TDI in it!

the turbo diesel!

ive got 2 tdi motors but they are a NIGHTMARE in wireing so i gave up


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright 2002 - 2013 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums