Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Go Back   Cut-Weld-Drive Forums > The VolksRodders Forum > The Cutting Board

The Cutting Board Cut... Weld... DRIVE.


User Information
Your Avatar

Stuff to check out...

Cool stuff you NEED!

Forum Stats
Members: 17,564
Threads: 32,386
Posts: 547,511
Total Online: 606

Newest Member: Tylerted

Latest Threads
- by RichG
- by 1slo3
- by 1slo3

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 21st, 2008, 08:33 AM   #776
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

WordPress might be very good,but their installation instructions suck big time.

I will check out your other two suggestions.

Thanks.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 08:41 AM   #777
BullDog
Forum Member
 
BullDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 1,250
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

for something super basic wysiwyg (point and click)... you can use Microsoft publisher... but its much like a lot of editors out there... not easy to get in and make hard code changes. I use notepad for the most part still.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Frankenstein T1
Project Progress Gallery
BullDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 08:44 AM   #778
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unkl Ian View Post
WordPress might be very good,but their installation instructions suck big time.

I will check out your other two suggestions.

Thanks.
you don't need to worry about there instruction for install as you don't have to do any of it.

If you setup an account on a server, like godaddy, that has an auto installer like fantastico all you have to do is click on the install link and it it does it all for you.

Wordpress and the two editors I suggested are two completely different type/classes of software.

Wordpress creates a framework that is essentially a complete website. It uses templates to change the look and feel of the site (in some cases very dramatically) Wordpress once installed sets up the menu system and the complete framework. It can be added to by using plugins. The bottomline is that you can create very complex websites without knowing shit about programming or HTML.

The other programs are used to design sites from scratch starting with squat except a desire to build something. You need to know at least basic html and if you want to do anything even mildly fancy you will have to read, learn study, curse swear and occasionally kick something.

These programs can also be used to modify Wordpress websites as they work at a core level. Even if you use Wordpress you should mess around with an editor and get at least the basic concepts down but it is not required.
__________________

Don't argue with idiots, people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Last edited by Steve White; March 21st, 2008 at 08:52 AM.
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 10:17 AM   #779
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I got Nvu,seems ok so far.
Just scratching the surface.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 11:09 AM   #780
carcentric
Grateful Member #484
 
carcentric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle area, USA
Posts: 3,014
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unkl Ian View Post
Has anyone built their own website ?
I tried "Coffee Cup",didn't make any sense.

Any suggestions ?
I've been very happy with NAMO WebEditor (I'm now using v.2006, but I've used previous versions back at least five years).

It's as easy as Word to WYSIWYG a page, then you can add features as you feel you need them (or not - I still don't use frames or cgi even though NAMO supports them and a lot more). It has a 30-day free trial (downloadable) and retailed under $100 when I bought it, or you can BuyItNow on eBay for $14 including shipping (search for Namo)!
__________________
M D "Doc" Nugent
"Slow the fuck down...you're making us slackers look even worse." - Budreaux
carcentric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 11:52 AM   #781
Stray Catalyst
Forum Member
 
Stray Catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 613
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I'm having an odd problem, that I'm not sure how to fix, or even where to start.
I recently upgraded my computer, going from an older system to a 2.2GHz dual-core with 2GB of RAM, winXP pro (with all the updates). When I start the computer up, it runs VERY slowly, for about the first 20 minutes or half an hour - we're talking 386-slow, where I'll click on something and it'll take a minute or more to acknowledge that I've clicked. Ctrl-alt-delete takes a similar amount of time before the computer reacts. Once the computer has run for 20 minutes or so, it starts moving a lot faster - about as fast as I would expect it to run. The change is NOT sudden (ie, it isn't running a scan in the BG and then running normally once it's finished), but gradually builds up to speed. The task manager normally shows 99% of the processing power going to system idle process while the computer is moving this slowly. Scandisk, defrag, antivirus scan, and antispyware scans don't seem to change this delay - I've run all of them with no appreciable change in the length of the slow-speed time. I went into the task manager and checked every process - all of them seem to be legit, according to their names on Google.
So what do I try next? As I built this computer myself, I can't go to tech support - there isn't any. I brought it to a shop at one point when I was unable to make it work properly, to find out that the previous owner had installed DDR333 RAM where DDR400 was required (it gave all sorts of illogical, inconsistent errors, which went away with the new RAM) and he was quite impressed with the hardware - it's high quality, uses a heat-pipe type heatsink on the CPU, good MB, etc. I can't afford to keep putting the computer in the shop - with spring coming up, all my spare money (and some that really shouldn't be "spare") is going into car parts. Any ideas?

Stray Catalyst
Stray Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 01:31 PM   #782
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Strange problem.

How many processes are running under XP ?
Anything over 30 will slow it down.

There are many legit software,that don't need to be in the start up routine.

If nobody here can figure it out,try the XP forum on Annoyances.org
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 02:06 PM   #783
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

well thats an odd problem. The very first thing I would do is run scandisk followed by defrag. Not saying that will cure anything but it will eliminate several possibilities and its the first thing you should do any time you have a problem. If you have Norton Disk doctor run that.

I don't mean to sound sarcastic but my 2nd suggestion is to not turn your computer off. I haven't turned my office machine off in years.

During that first 20 minutes obviously something is going on.
Is the hard drive churning at all?
You do know that the process manager does not show all active processes right?
Does the machine boot up at about the correct speed?
Does it shut down at about the right speed?
Does it make any unusual noises like whinning or whirring kinda shit?

Could you go into the swap file and manually change the size of it and reboot to see if it changes.

There are only a few things that can do that type of thing. Some process is eating up CPU cycles or something on the hard drive is corrupt and tying up the data bus. The hard drive issue could be a physical issue or a software one.

I'll give it some thought.
__________________

Don't argue with idiots, people watching may not be able to tell the difference.
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 03:06 PM   #784
Stray Catalyst
Forum Member
 
Stray Catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 613
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I ran scandisk followed by defrag several days ago - the drive was quite fragmented, more than I'd expected, as I've only been using this freshly formatted HD for a couple of months. It didn't appreciably change the slow0speed problem, though it made some games load faster.
I worry about leaving the computer on 24/7 because I'm not confident in my firewall, and don't want to join the zombie army. I might put up a hardware firewall to make that less of a problem, but that's a whole different can of worms.
During the slow time, I haven't noticed any unusual disk activity, and it doesn't sing the Western Digital Dirge (seeking lost sectors) like other ones have in the past when they're on their last legs. The shutdown is another odd thing, that might be related. When I click the start menu, and select "shutdown" it gives the hourglass and doesn't do anything for a couple of minutes, then the screen goes grey in about a half a second and it pops up the menu to shut down, restart, etc. It starts slowly, but I'd just written that off to the fact that it's churning along at a fraction of its usual speed.
I'll try expanding the swap file size and see if that helps - thank you.

Stray Catalyst
Stray Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 03:07 PM   #785
Stray Catalyst
Forum Member
 
Stray Catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 613
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Would it help if I run HijackThis and post the log here?

Stray Catalyst
Stray Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 04:05 PM   #786
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

There are Malware forums that specialize in Hijack This logs.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2008, 06:48 PM   #787
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

ya,agreed on the hijackthis log file. You are far better of posting it on one the forums thats filled with geeks that eat up that shit. Those things make my head hurt. Good tool though.
this site is pretty active and got some good techs on it.
http://www.techsupportforum.com/secu...this-log-help/

and of course there is Castlecops

If it turns out to be malware, which is quit possible, I'd be interested to know what. It reminds of hows some of the badly coded dialers affected machines when there was no phoneline connected to the modem. Lil shits would tie the system up polling for a connection.
__________________

Don't argue with idiots, people watching may not be able to tell the difference.
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2008, 07:56 PM   #788
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stray Catalyst View Post
When I start the computer up, it runs VERY slowly, for about the first 20 minutes or half an hour - we're talking 386-slow, where I'll click on something and it'll take a minute or more to acknowledge that I've clicked. Ctrl-alt-delete takes a similar amount of time before the computer reacts.
Hit Ctrl-alt-delete ,then select "Processes" at the top.

At the very bottom,it will give the # of
processes running,and the % CPU usage.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2008, 07:40 AM   #789
Stray Catalyst
Forum Member
 
Stray Catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 613
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unkl Ian View Post
Hit Ctrl-alt-delete ,then select "Processes" at the top.

At the very bottom,it will give the # of
processes running,and the % CPU usage.
I did that - it tells me that 99% of the CPU usage is going to system idle processes, and the last 1% is showing me the task manager. I've posted all the info at the HijackThis forum that Steve White recommended, I'm hoping they can come through with a solution for me.

Stray Catalyst
Stray Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2008, 07:54 AM   #790
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

And the number of processes running is..... ?
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2008, 11:35 AM   #791
Stray Catalyst
Forum Member
 
Stray Catalyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 613
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

33 running processes. I increased the page file size, per some previous advice - it didn't change the delay time much.

Stray Catalyst
Stray Catalyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2008, 03:24 PM   #792
KurseD
Forum Member
 
KurseD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,065
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Anyone recomend any DVD to MPEG converter programs, preferably free?
__________________
KurseD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 06:42 PM   #793
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

How was the background here done ?
http://www.volksrods.com/forum/image...Background.jpg

I can resize and adjust the colors,but how do I put them all together in one image ?
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 02:49 AM   #794
XISLED
Forum Member
 
XISLED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manteca Ca
Posts: 324
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Stray.

send me the speds on your system.

mobo, processor, ram, vid card, etc. os

these all help in the performance.

have you tried to start your computer in safe mode and run your scans there?

usually i do this on my clients sytems when they run slow.

goto control panel ...system...system restore. and check to see if a restore point is on.

if it is and your running a virusscan. it will clean any viri that might be up and running it finds except those inside the restore point. kida like chasing your tail.

i usually turn it off and then run all my scans.

spybot s/d
mcafee viruscan
spysweeper
merijin.org has some good progs to use along witht hte spybot program.

also run these in safe mode if you can.

at nboot. hit the f8 key on your system when the black screen comes on and before the windows logo shows up.

run it in safe mode with networking.

good luck mate.



roger.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
I never knew i looked so good until i was diagnosed with ms.
XISLED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 05:15 AM   #795
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unkl Ian View Post
How was the background here done ?
http://www.volksrods.com/forum/image...Background.jpg

I can resize and adjust the colors,but how do I put them all together in one image ?
Not sure Unkl but are you asking how the individual pix of cars were all pasted into one image? What graphics program are you using? Lots of tutorials on it if that what you are getting at
__________________

Don't argue with idiots, people watching may not be able to tell the difference.
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 06:55 AM   #796
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve White View Post
Not sure Unkl but are you asking how the individual pix of cars were all pasted into one image? What graphics program are you using? Lots of tutorials on it if that what you are getting at

I've got Photoshop,Illustrator,Corel Photopaint,
Corel Paintshop Pro,etc.

Don't really know how to use any of it.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 06:57 AM   #797
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

And rarely know the correct words to describe what I want to do,
so I can search for the info.

"Photo montage". Got it,thanks.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 03:06 PM   #798
Ray-Dean
Forum Member
 
Ray-Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South of Disorder: a.k.a. Bristow, Ok
Posts: 7,708
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Getting fucking pissed off here!


Had to get a new phone jack so I could move the 'puter into my new office here at the house. Nothing big. Just remover the line that the 'puter was on, ran new wire, and installed the jack. Nothing hard about it.


But now when someone calls (or we pick up), the DSL and the phone in the other end of the house get crossed. The DSL shuts down, or you hear it over the phone. As soon as you hang up, the DSL is back.


All I did was replace the wire, everything is hooked back up the correctly. What went wrong?
__________________
My Kindergarten report card:
DOESN'T PLAY WELL WITH OTHERS!!!
Ray-Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 04:31 PM   #799
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Did you reinstall the filter ?
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 04:39 PM   #800
Ray-Dean
Forum Member
 
Ray-Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South of Disorder: a.k.a. Bristow, Ok
Posts: 7,708
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Filter?

What filter?


Everything that was hooked up is still hooked up. I just replaced the actual wire from the phone box to the new jack. It used to run all the way around the house. I just pulled the new line through the crawl space to make the house look less cluttered. I didn't remove a filter that I know of. Just phone line.


But get this.... I also shut the 'puter down for a few, fired it back up and my DSL had lost the main gateway addy. I had to punch it in to get reconnected. Go fuckin' figure. I finally get my own little spot in the house and everything is going to hell in a hand basket.
__________________
My Kindergarten report card:
DOESN'T PLAY WELL WITH OTHERS!!!
Ray-Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer, computer help, computer help desk, pos computer, qwerty

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright 2002 - 2020 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums