Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Go Back   Cut-Weld-Drive Forums > The VolksRodders Forum > The Cutting Board

The Cutting Board Cut... Weld... DRIVE.


User Information
Your Avatar

Stuff to check out...

Cool stuff you NEED!

Forum Stats
Members: 17,564
Threads: 32,386
Posts: 547,512
Total Online: 600

Newest Member: Tylerted

Latest Threads
- by RichG
- by 1slo3
- by 1slo3

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 12th, 2008, 04:57 PM   #801
Ray-Dean
Forum Member
 
Ray-Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South of Disorder: a.k.a. Bristow, Ok
Posts: 7,708
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Well.....


I just pulled out the box that the DSL came in and guess what..... There were 4 DSL filter in there.


Don't know why we never had a problem before, but I installed one in the other phone line and problem solved. Grumpy didn't install one when he set it up, so I guess they just got overlooked somehow.

Working now.
__________________
My Kindergarten report card:
DOESN'T PLAY WELL WITH OTHERS!!!
Ray-Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 05:07 PM   #802
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Our DSL needs a filter on each phone,but not on the line that runs the computer.
or something like that.

Have you got a phone plugged in where the computer used to be ?
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 05:13 PM   #803
Ray-Dean
Forum Member
 
Ray-Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South of Disorder: a.k.a. Bristow, Ok
Posts: 7,708
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

No. There used to be 6 separate lines coming out of the phone box. I just removed 4 of them completely, and replaced one other with new wire.


Jamie said that before, she could hear the inter web when she was on the phone. guess I just don't talk on the phone enough to have noticed.

But yeah, there is a filter on the phone now. We only need one jack for the cordless phone. It's a multiple room set up. All the other phones just need a 110V outlet. They all send a signal back to the one base that is plugged into the wall jack.
__________________
My Kindergarten report card:
DOESN'T PLAY WELL WITH OTHERS!!!
Ray-Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 05:31 PM   #804
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I think every phone line is supposed to have a filter,except the one the computer is on.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 05:47 PM   #805
Ray-Dean
Forum Member
 
Ray-Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South of Disorder: a.k.a. Bristow, Ok
Posts: 7,708
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

There is only one phone line other than the one to the 'puter. Our cordless phones have one base, and 4 hand sets.
__________________
My Kindergarten report card:
DOESN'T PLAY WELL WITH OTHERS!!!
Ray-Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 05:52 PM   #806
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

So you would need a filter on the base.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2008, 05:56 PM   #807
Ray-Dean
Forum Member
 
Ray-Dean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South of Disorder: a.k.a. Bristow, Ok
Posts: 7,708
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Yep. It's there now. Never had one befor with no problems. least as far as I know.
__________________
My Kindergarten report card:
DOESN'T PLAY WELL WITH OTHERS!!!
Ray-Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 10:07 AM   #808
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Has anyone heard anything about "gold" colored CDs lasting longer than the regular "silver" colored ones ?

Or is it marketing BS ?
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 03:41 PM   #809
hogey
Forum Member
 
hogey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: mccleary wash , armpit of the county
Posts: 146
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

as far as cd's are concerned you get what you pay for.
color has no correlation to longevity. its how its stored and treated i.e. temperature and handling of CD. if you look at the type of cd's used for mass produced audio's you'll find the type
used for their play back quality. only thing i found with colors
is some cd players lasers have issues with certain colors.
hope that clears it up or makes as clear as mud.
hogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2008, 11:04 PM   #810
Nick
Forum Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, BC (Canada)
Posts: 7,648
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

It's the quality of the dye used that's important, not the color. Not sure which brands are better for CDs since I barely use them anymore ever since DVD media's pretty much as cheap. And yes, there's a BIG difference between DVD dye quality, the good ones you often pay more for a reason (but some cheap ones with high quality dyes too, just know which brands to look for). Verbatim generally uses high quality dyes for DVDs, so would assume the same for their CDs??
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2008, 06:23 AM   #811
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

A bud of mine has been collecting DVD's since their inception. He has literally 1000's of movies all stored, and catalogued, in large hi end binders. Now he is discovering that a very high percentage of them are fucked.

They appear to have degraded even though they have for the most part never been played more then once and have always been stored on shelves in his office.

Not only is there a large diff in quality of CD/DVD's but it appears a pretty damn high percentage of the name brands sold in small shops, flea markets, Ebay, etc are counterfeit.

As for color affecting things, well if you are interested in high end audio there have been many threads on this subject over the years. www.audioasylum.com has a number of them. Black CD's in particular are believed by some to sound better. For 99.5% of MP3's it is moot point as they already sound like shit and are only suitable for playing on low-fi devices like IPods anyway.
__________________

Don't argue with idiots, people watching may not be able to tell the difference.
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 08:04 PM   #812
cuttinup
Forum Member
 
cuttinup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: AFG Baby!
Posts: 389
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Ok, If I had enough hair left id pull it out. Im trying to get some stuff off of a hard drive from an old computer that ran Windows 98. First i bought two different USB adapters to try and access the drive from my laptop, which runs XP. The only way I could see the drive was in device manager, It had no letter and I couldnt get in. It wasnt visible on the My computer window, or explore window. Same thing with the second adapter. So then I put it in the desk top as a slave drive, basically same deal, still cant get in. Tried to add a letter designation but it wont let me. Any suggestions?
cuttinup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2008, 10:21 PM   #813
Nick
Forum Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, BC (Canada)
Posts: 7,648
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

possibly the partition maybe corrupt, so the PC can see it but can't really access it. Don't reformat or or re-partition or you may have a ahrder time (or never) retrieve the files.

Try to get a software retrieval program (like to get deleted files), see if it finds any files on the old HDD
http://www.download.com/3120-20_4.ht...es%5C&tag=srch
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2008, 09:43 AM   #814
cuttinup
Forum Member
 
cuttinup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: AFG Baby!
Posts: 389
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Thanks I'll give it a try
cuttinup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2008, 08:34 PM   #815
PAPA_SMURF
Forum Member
 
PAPA_SMURF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Shore, HI
Posts: 3,030
Default OT: Fucking wireless router

Anyone know how to work these things? Ive been on there site, I figured out how to take the firewall down. I figured out how to tune in the router so it is conected on the right chanel but... it will not come up in the network list.

I have our main computer hooked up to the internet. I just cant get the laptop going right. Please help!!!


The router is Linksys WRT54G.
__________________
...Joey

66 schwinn, 04 Jetta
https://www.facebook.com/joe.lynch.739
vwclubofhawaii.ning.com
PAPA_SMURF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2008, 09:41 PM   #816
UncleSlacker
Forum Member
 
UncleSlacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Elvisville, Tennessee
Posts: 621
Default Re: OT: Fucking wireless router

Linksys WRT54G is fairly standard.

Have you changed the SSID and are you using any encryption?

Open a Web Browser and go to http://192.168.1.1

That's the router's homepage for setup.

Change your SSID to something unique and if you want to, set up a WEP key.

They're terribly easy to set up but also extremely easy to get frustrated. I talk to at least 20 people a day with that router and I have two of them also.

My main call right now are related to setting up our wireless multi function machines with these routers. Customers do not know their SSID, have no idea what Encryption or Authentication is and call for support. The people (I hesitate to say the work "techs") that answer the phones are of almost no assistance in most cases.

When the FAQs I write and post on our website don't work, the calls get escalated to me to resolve. I walk customers through setting up their router (going beyond the call of duty in every case).

I'm actually going through one right now to sent this message.

There's a RESET button on the back of it.

Hold that button and it will reset the router.

Go to the aforementioned router homepage, the username is admin and the password should be the same.

I'll post more in just a second.
UncleSlacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2008, 09:49 PM   #817
UncleSlacker
Forum Member
 
UncleSlacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Elvisville, Tennessee
Posts: 621
Default Re: OT: Fucking wireless router

I just pulled mine up so I know I'm telling ya the right stuff LOL.

To the left you'll see a black box that says Setup and to the right of that again the word Setup. To the right of that click Wireless and you'll be able to change your SSID (Service Set Identifier - or Network Name).

This is the name your computer should show as being an available network when you click (and I'm assuming you have WinXP or Vista) Start, Connect to...

If it's a Mac (OS10.4 or 10.5) and you're using Airport, click the Airport icon in the File Menu and you'll see the available networks.

If you want to set up a WEP key or something, right below the previously selected Wireless you'll see Wireless Security. Click that, select WEP and give it a ten digit passcode. Most people use their phone number here.

Hope that helps, I got more clothes to wash. Getting ready to close on this new house tomorrow.
UncleSlacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2008, 06:07 AM   #818
HeidelbergJohn4.0
Forum Member
 
HeidelbergJohn4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Havre de Grace, MD
Posts: 7,278
Default Re: OT: Fucking wireless router

Good walkthrough! now, do you speeky english as well as you write it? Can I get your number. I'm gonna kill the next pakastani gateway help desk mfer that answers, hello, my name is BOB! My wife fucks with them and won't talk to them until they fess up and say what their real name is. Then she tells them her name is Aparna.
(Sorry if that offends, but I'm fucking PISSED at all this bullshit outsourcing)



Stupid question, but do you have the radio turned on on your laptop? if i shut down the radio and re-start it, Mine hunts for wireless signals as soon as it's turned on and I ususally get a list of 10 to 15 available networks, but I have two doctor's offices, a medical building and a hospital within a block of me in addition to 10-12 houses.

My wife inadvertently turns hers off all the damn time then calls me bitching that I fucked up her computer. I have to go through a fucntion key to turn mine on and off, but her's actualls has a stupid ass switch right next to the multimedia card reader on the front and she and the kids hit it when it's on their lap.

And yeah, everyone seems to use their phone numbers for the 10 digit. I just got out the phone book and looked up my neighbors numbers so I can get better reception in the garage on the Ipod and laptop.

Hmm, wonder who's "The watson family" network belongs to? yup. phone number.
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
HeidelbergJohn4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 01:56 PM   #819
carcentric
Grateful Member #484
 
carcentric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle area, USA
Posts: 3,014
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

My contract with my web site host (ipowerweb.com) expires at the end of this month, and I think I'll be moving as they've completely crashed (my sites and theirs) a couple times in the last couple months.

What are some reliable, not too expensive (I pay $96/year now) hosting companies you can recommend?
__________________
M D "Doc" Nugent
"Slow the fuck down...you're making us slackers look even worse." - Budreaux
carcentric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 02:06 PM   #820
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,020
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Check out GoDaddy.com
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 02:10 PM   #821
Nick
Forum Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, BC (Canada)
Posts: 7,648
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I use godaddy. They're big so has good tech service when needed, and dirt cheap doesn't hurt neither
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 03:52 PM   #822
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by carcentric View Post

What are some reliable, not too expensive (I pay $96/year now) hosting companies you can recommend?
how many domains do you want to host? Do you use fantastico or one of the other admin scripts?

I use godaddy as a registrar but I use zoomreseller for a test server and to host around 30 domains at $6.95 a month for unlimited domains. Can only use 1% server resources though.

I use supremecenter101 to host the rest. I have a reseller account there which costs nothing to setup and gives me up to 30 domains and huge friggin amounts of bandwidth. and I can have spikes up to 3% server resources which make a big diff on a busy php based site. Cost me $96 a year.

Bottom line is it all depends on what you plan on doing with it.
__________________

Don't argue with idiots, people watching may not be able to tell the difference.
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 05:38 PM   #823
Nick
Forum Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, BC (Canada)
Posts: 7,648
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

http://www.zzhosting.com/index.html
I use these guys to host, $3.90/month for 10gb, etc...
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 08:44 PM   #824
carcentric
Grateful Member #484
 
carcentric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle area, USA
Posts: 3,014
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
I use godaddy. They're big so has good tech service when needed, and dirt cheap doesn't hurt neither
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
http://www.zzhosting.com/index.html
I use these guys to host, $3.90/month for 10gb, etc...
You just use godaddy as a registrar? Or do you use both godaddy and zzhosting for hosting different sites?

Do all of your Gallery and runtrod files fit in the 10 gig allotment? How much bandwidth have you needed with all the photos being looked at frequently?

I tried looking up my stats on ipowerweb today - never could find out what bandwidth I'm using, but they say "You are using 0.05 MB for your Web site. You are using 1.45 MB for your logs." (according to Explore, my carcentric.com site files are around 100 megs on my local disk) . . . .
__________________
M D "Doc" Nugent
"Slow the fuck down...you're making us slackers look even worse." - Budreaux

Last edited by carcentric; June 9th, 2008 at 09:35 PM.
carcentric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2008, 08:46 PM   #825
carcentric
Grateful Member #484
 
carcentric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle area, USA
Posts: 3,014
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve White View Post
how many domains do you want to host? Do you use fantastico or one of the other admin scripts?
I have two domains (carcentric.com and docnugent.com) and have never heard of fantastico - is it the Mexican blanket of web editors? . . .
__________________
M D "Doc" Nugent
"Slow the fuck down...you're making us slackers look even worse." - Budreaux

Last edited by carcentric; June 9th, 2008 at 09:35 PM.
carcentric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer, computer help, computer help desk, pos computer, qwerty

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright 2002 - 2020 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums