Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Go Back   Cut-Weld-Drive Forums > The VolksRodders Forum > The Cutting Board

The Cutting Board Cut... Weld... DRIVE.


User Information
Your Avatar

Stuff to check out...

Cool stuff you NEED!

Forum Stats
Members: 17,687
Threads: 32,348
Posts: 546,768
Total Online: 555

Newest Member: Tylerted

Latest Threads
- by alykat

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 31st, 2009, 11:51 AM   #1
soulrider
Forum Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aloha/Beaverton Or.
Posts: 150
Member Photo Albums
Default pinto motor in my bus??

OK GUYS.....
This is something I have been tossing around for a few years now is putting a pinto motor in my bus. has anyone seen this? done this? or know of anyone who has?

I have a 70 bus. I am going to lower it front and rear, I was thinking of running the rad on the roof on a rack or making a faux spare tire on the front with a small rad in there or something..... the idea is to make it look like it does not have a radiator.

I am thinking that, the mounting of the motor, and exhaust are going to be the hardest things. They sell the adaptors for the motor to trans mount, and the pinto motors are small enough to fit inside the engine bay with the lid closed, and I am not to worried about having to cut for the room above......so what do you all think? I need the input of the almighty volksrods dwellers
__________________
poor bastards c.c.
soulrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 12:40 PM   #2
TeamEvil/TC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

It's Easy Peasy !

Hit the Conversion Perversion area of the ShopTalkForums and you'll find more info that you can read in a week cover the ups and downs of the installation. There's even a lengthy thread on where to locate the radiator., my favorite being inside a fake spare tire mounted on the nose of the bus, as you're suggesting. They have that install covered.

These Volksrodders, for the most part, seem to have trouble finding the choke on the side of a Solex, you're just gonna get a lot of. "I once saw . . . " or "My Brother's friend . . . " kinda shit. Hit ShopTalk, you'll be way ahead and find out exactly what you need to know.

Luck, it's a common and neat swap!

TC


This will get you started:

http://www.shoptalkforums.com/viewto...713&hilit=ford

Last edited by TeamEvil/TC; December 31st, 2009 at 12:53 PM.
TeamEvil/TC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 03:32 PM   #3
soulrider
Forum Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aloha/Beaverton Or.
Posts: 150
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

sweet!!! I hope I can do it with out spending to much money
__________________
poor bastards c.c.
soulrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 04:21 PM   #4
trikertroy
Forum Member
 
trikertroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SHADY TAMPA BAY
Posts: 1,123
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

I stuck a Pinto in my 60 baja.. It worked very well... I just bolted to the trans with a KEP kit.. No rear engine mount, but I braced the heck out of the tranny horns.
The car was a big tin can with NO insulation and cut out firewall. When the engine hit a certain RPM it would send a bone shaking vibration thruout the car... Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr... The 4cyl inline and solid mounts may not be a really good idea.
__________________
A Tampa Bay Shady Rider and Bettertrike designer/builder
http://bettertrikes.yolasite.com/
http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v233/TRIKERTROY/
trikertroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 04:38 PM   #5
Bugula
Forum Member
 
Bugula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Aberdeen, MD
Posts: 1,662
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

I saw a Ford 2.8 V6 in a Bus. Fit nice.
Bugula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 31st, 2009, 05:51 PM   #6
soulrider
Forum Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aloha/Beaverton Or.
Posts: 150
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

Quote:
Originally Posted by trikertroy View Post
I stuck a Pinto in my 60 baja.. It worked very well... I just bolted to the trans with a KEP kit.. No rear engine mount, but I braced the heck out of the tranny horns.
The car was a big tin can with NO insulation and cut out firewall. When the engine hit a certain RPM it would send a bone shaking vibration thruout the car... Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr... The 4cyl inline and solid mounts may not be a really good idea.
I was going to make some urethane bushing mounts for it. and something else I forgot all about was I could actually have a working heater and defrost if I did this We just had a snow storm here the other day and getting home was an adventure...... stopped traffic and snow just building up under and to the side of the wipers.... lol.... it was fun
__________________
poor bastards c.c.
soulrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 05:38 AM   #7
gravguy
Forum Member
 
gravguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DELAWARE
Posts: 855
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

there are a few on this site

http://frost.bbboy.net/vwengineconversions
__________________
IM BACK ok now scream and run in fear

FACEBOOK VERY WILD CAR COMPANY
gravguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 07:49 AM   #8
Jon
Forum Member
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Behind you, Breathing heavy on your neck.
Posts: 6,293
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

Isn't the 4 cyl. ford ranger the same motor ?
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 07:52 AM   #9
bigguy
Forum Member
 
bigguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 6,962
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

Yep 2.3 ranger and pinto are near identical except head design changes through the years
__________________
Playing the hurry up and wait game of life.
bigguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 12:54 PM   #10
HeidelbergJohn4.0
Forum Member
 
HeidelbergJohn4.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Havre de Grace, MD
Posts: 7,278
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

4 cylinder mustangs also had the 2.3. Thunderbird turbo coupes and not as easy to find, but the SVO mustangs had a turbo version of the same 2.3 motor.

That little motor was a Ford workhorse for years. My friend Stu won 7 consecutive APBA national high point championships with pinto motors in his hydroplanes, and his wife and both kids have all won national championships with that same motor.
__________________
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
HeidelbergJohn4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 04:28 PM   #11
TeamEvil/TC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MA
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

Here's a good cheap start for you!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/FORD-...item518f65a665

Have Shorty chop the guy down on the price, bop on over, grab it up, and send it off for you.

All you need is the pilot bearing and flywheel from KEP. With the price on this adapter, you're WAY ahead of the game.
TeamEvil/TC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2010, 06:45 PM   #12
CALIFKID
Forum Member
 
CALIFKID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ATLANTIC WEST COAST FRANCE
Posts: 183
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

Quote:
Originally Posted by gravguy View Post
there are a few on this site

http://frost.bbboy.net/vwengineconversions
Interesting!!!thanks!!
CALIFKID is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2010, 07:44 PM   #13
soulrider
Forum Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aloha/Beaverton Or.
Posts: 150
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

I saw something that put me in another direction...... I am going to go with a VR6 motor.....I think..... I saw one in a 76 bus that rocked....youtube.... and I know a few people that are water cooled guys and they always have extra motors and stuff. So if I can get a wrecked whatever with a vr6 I just strip it out and and watch everyone I fly past go
I like those little smiles can you tell?
__________________
poor bastards c.c.
soulrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2010, 08:45 PM   #14
Kraut Taco
Forum Member
 
Kraut Taco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brazil, Indiana.
Posts: 182
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

O/T - I had thought of putting a 1.8 turbo or Vr6 in my bug. But it's on a stand still for now.
Kraut Taco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 06:39 PM   #15
BloodGuzzler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

omfg wtf is with jons pic its a @$$ walking omg
BloodGuzzler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 07:19 PM   #16
soulrider
Forum Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aloha/Beaverton Or.
Posts: 150
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraut Taco View Post
O/T - I had thought of putting a 1.8 turbo or Vr6 in my bug. But it's on a stand still for now.
I have seen some guys.....since I have been looking into this..... That have put some 4cyl and even one vr6 in a bug. The only thing I see thats a problem is it sticks out past the lid. BUT I have seen where you can put a subie engine in a bug and with slight mods, you can use the original lid.

There is a lot more room in the bus for the "longer" engines.
I am not saying it cant be done and look good just saying it is a little more difficult.

That bug will RIP down the street though
__________________
poor bastards c.c.
soulrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2010, 07:21 PM   #17
soulrider
Forum Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aloha/Beaverton Or.
Posts: 150
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

OH and by the way welcome bloodguzzler. I fucking love jon's avatar...... little waist and big bare ass walking along gets me all...... well you know!!
__________________
poor bastards c.c.
soulrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2010, 12:27 PM   #18
soulrider
Forum Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aloha/Beaverton Or.
Posts: 150
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

I talked with a few guys I know about getting a vr6, the ecu and a bunch of other stuff. It's going to cost me a small fortune. SO.... I called my great uncle just to see what he has out at his shop and low and behold he has a carb'ed 2.3l ford sitting out there, needs a new cam and a carb rebuild.

He was going to put it in his nash metro but, went with a v6. so I am going to go with that. now I just need to find a rad, heater core, fab up some exhaust, and get the adapter.

WISH ME LUCK GUYS!!!
__________________
poor bastards c.c.
soulrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2010, 04:52 AM   #19
gravguy
Forum Member
 
gravguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DELAWARE
Posts: 855
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

ok you evil bastard i have now been watching videos of vr6 vw vans crawled under my bus and measured out how it will fit http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0o_UyeQm8s
__________________
IM BACK ok now scream and run in fear

FACEBOOK VERY WILD CAR COMPANY
gravguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2010, 10:17 AM   #20
Cat Box
Forum Member
 
Cat Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 2,160
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

looks like you are off to the U-Pull-It for some of the little bits.
__________________
I have not yet begun to procrastinate.

http://www.Rosecityvolksters.com
Cat Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2010, 05:12 PM   #21
soulrider
Forum Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aloha/Beaverton Or.
Posts: 150
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

oh ya I will be hitting u-pull-it and my uncles place there are a few broke down vehicles out there... can u say redneck? AND yes.... I am an evil bastard but mostly a POOR BASTARD.

So hopefully this year at the volks show in woodburn I will be dragging my pinto powered bus down the strip or at least opening the hatch so people can see what I did.

OH and subaru motors fit nicely in a bus from what I have seen.
__________________
poor bastards c.c.
soulrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2010, 08:27 AM   #22
Cat Box
Forum Member
 
Cat Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 2,160
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

i will be there to race you with a fresh 1835 with DRD level 5 heads a 120 cam backed by a pro street Rancho transmission.

oh and if'n you need help just ask im not all that far away...as you know.
__________________
I have not yet begun to procrastinate.

http://www.Rosecityvolksters.com
Cat Box is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2010, 05:19 PM   #23
soulrider
Forum Member
 
soulrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Aloha/Beaverton Or.
Posts: 150
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

catbox, doing some mods to the super? lol and ya when I start up the project if u want to come out and work on it with me ur more than welcome man!!
__________________
poor bastards c.c.
soulrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 12:59 AM   #24
1965aaron
Forum Member
 
1965aaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: tacoma wa
Posts: 549
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

you should put the engine from the TDI in it!

the turbo diesel!
__________________
http://www.volksrods.com/forum/member.php?u=6286
1965aaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 01:07 AM   #25
gravguy
Forum Member
 
gravguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DELAWARE
Posts: 855
Default Re: pinto motor in my bus??

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1965aaron View Post
you should put the engine from the TDI in it!

the turbo diesel!
ive got 2 tdi motors but they are a NIGHTMARE in wireing so i gave up
__________________
IM BACK ok now scream and run in fear

FACEBOOK VERY WILD CAR COMPANY
gravguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright 2002 - 2013 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums