Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Go Back   Cut-Weld-Drive Forums > The VolksRodders Forum > The Cutting Board

The Cutting Board Cut... Weld... DRIVE.


User Information
Your Avatar

Stuff to check out...

Cool stuff you NEED!

Forum Stats
Members: 17,564
Threads: 32,397
Posts: 547,693
Total Online: 604

Newest Member: Tylerted

Latest Threads
- by DrHax
- by Bugula

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 19th, 2007, 05:37 PM   #701
dt113
Forum Member
 
dt113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: W Monroe,La. 71291
Posts: 2,013
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bugdust View Post
I'm looking at my old 15" monitor right now because my 17" flat panel died on me. It was only two years old but it goes totally black now. I thought it might be my video card but this monitor does fine. Any ideas? Is two years the normal lifespan of a monitor now?

Mine lasted about 2 1/2 yrs, before it died.
When you started the comp--- it would flash on for a few seconds, and then go black. Replaced it, and everything was fine again.
dt113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 05:43 PM   #702
bugdust
Forum Member
 
bugdust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Middleburg, FL USA
Posts: 8,812
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

That's what mine does. It comes on, flickers a little and then goes black. It's been flickering for a few days when you first turn it on but then it straightens out. Now it goes black. I turn it off, wait a few seconds, turn it back on and it is okay for about 30 seconds. I bought it in Sept. or Oct. of 2005.
__________________
my photobucket page

Quote:
No pics, but oh well, if you really, really need to see metal removed, turn off your computer and work on your car... ~ Ray-Dean
bugdust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 06:15 PM   #703
Ryan
Capt A's super package
 
Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: maryland
Posts: 8,096
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

hey guys i am tying to print out a picture. problem is that i took it at 4meg on my camera and i want to print it out on 4x6 paper. the 4 meg pic is like 32inches wide. what do i do?
__________________
Quote:
That's from people touching her with a ten foot pole - Walt.
Quote:
So don't tell me that I wouldn't drive to VT to pick up a rusted piece of shit.~scott76
Quote:
If a dictionary could take a shit...
it would look like that sentence.~steve
Random stuff I am looking for: Dont think there is anything at the moment
www.solar4soldiers.org (I am starting a non-profit to put solar panels on to disabled veterans homes. PM me for more details)
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 06:21 PM   #704
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

There are a ton of different things you can do but the simplest choose scale to media in the print driver options
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 06:24 PM   #705
grumpy
Mr. Asshole Moderator
 
grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Member #88 in Central Arkansas
Posts: 5,883
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I use Fast Stone Image, its free. But for a quick fix paste the pic into Word and then resize and print.
__________________
very cool project coming up later this year and you can see it LIVE, stay tuned.
grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 06:25 PM   #706
tattooed_pariah
Site Supporter
 
tattooed_pariah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: El Cajon, California
Posts: 3,948
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by crack monkey View Post
hey guys i am tying to print out a picture. problem is that i took it at 4meg on my camera and i want to print it out on 4x6 paper. the 4 meg pic is like 32inches wide. what do i do?


The filesize shouldn't affect the print size, there should be something in the print options to scale the image to fit the paper or desired print size.
__________________
-pariah

"I never trust a fighting man who doesn't smoke or drink or at least cause a little trouble." -Admiral William Frederick Halsey Jr.
===========
Feel free to stare and admire,
but kindly tell me if it's on fire!

1972 VolksRod "Effigy" Build Thread
1986 Honda Shadow VT1100 Work Thread
tattooed_pariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 06:42 PM   #707
tequilla
Forum Member
 
tequilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Layin' low........ sippin' slow
Posts: 2,268
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by crack monkey View Post
hey guys i am tying to print out a picture. problem is that i took it at 4meg on my camera and i want to print it out on 4x6 paper. the 4 meg pic is like 32inches wide. what do i do?

Buy a smaller camera
__________________
Devils Plaything - 1970 Turbo Rat VW

Share your cheese....... here kitty, kitty.......
tequilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 07:21 PM   #708
Ryan
Capt A's super package
 
Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: maryland
Posts: 8,096
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by tattooed_pariah View Post
The filesize shouldn't affect the print size, there should be something in the print options to scale the image to fit the paper or desired print size.
that is what i did. thanks guys. it might have helped if i got the right ink thingie
__________________
Quote:
That's from people touching her with a ten foot pole - Walt.
Quote:
So don't tell me that I wouldn't drive to VT to pick up a rusted piece of shit.~scott76
Quote:
If a dictionary could take a shit...
it would look like that sentence.~steve
Random stuff I am looking for: Dont think there is anything at the moment
www.solar4soldiers.org (I am starting a non-profit to put solar panels on to disabled veterans homes. PM me for more details)
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 07:38 PM   #709
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,021
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Look for a "fit to page' option in the advanced settings on the printer.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 05:56 PM   #710
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,021
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

One source for info on Malware.
http://forums.spywareinfo.com/index.php?showforum=18
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 08:07 PM   #711
Cobey
Forum Member
 
Cobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by carcentric View Post
The answer was right in front of my fingers!

While in Visio 5, I do a Shift-PrintScreen, open PaintShopPro, paste, crop, and SaveAs jpg . . . . Bypasses the faulty conversion app built into Visio entirely, so I'm back to full functionality - for free.

Feelin' a little silly, though, for not thinking of it sooner.
What about just the Print Screen button and then open PSP and pasting?

If you want a more serious drawing program, how about Gimp? It's also free, same quality as Photoshop, and is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.
__________________
(0)(=|=)(0) 68 Ghia Vert - Gina - Home at last!


Photobucket

-I beat up 7 hippies and all I got was this stupid VW...
http://www.instepdrmartens.com/data/...168971013-2718
Cobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2007, 03:12 PM   #712
notched
Forum Member
 
notched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Medford, Oregon
Posts: 4,289
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobey View Post
What about just the Print Screen button and then open PSP and pasting?

If you want a more serious drawing program, how about Gimp? It's also free, same quality as Photoshop, and is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.
Gimp is pretty decent. But IMHO, it's not even close to Photoshop.
__________________
Phillip Bradfield

--

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unkl Ian View Post
You will make a good wife, some day, John.
notched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2007, 03:38 PM   #713
Cobey
Forum Member
 
Cobey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Yeah, it depends on who you talk to. The geek crowd swear by it, the pros are afraid of it, and the average users may and may not go for the learning curve since most instructions are based on Photoshop.
__________________
(0)(=|=)(0) 68 Ghia Vert - Gina - Home at last!


Photobucket

-I beat up 7 hippies and all I got was this stupid VW...
http://www.instepdrmartens.com/data/...168971013-2718
Cobey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2007, 04:14 PM   #714
Satan420
Forum Member
 
Satan420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 35
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Yeah get the free version of Photoshop, its in Spanish and it works great.
__________________
It's only after we've lost everything that we're free to do anything. Tyler Durden

If you can dodge a wrench you can dodge a ball. Patches O'Houlihan
Satan420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2007, 08:02 PM   #715
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

there are lots of options for decent graphics programs. I have been using Photoshop since ver 3.04 which is a hell of a long time. I love the program and have no interest in using any other software as my foundation program for graphics.

That said I wouldn't wish PhotoShop on anyone. It has a learning curve from hell and none of the terminology or keyboard shortcuts work in much of anything else except GIMP.

Paint Shop Pro by JASC software has been around for ever and is a great program, prehaps the best for the money. It has won many many awards over the years including a recent 5 stars from CNET and it has a much easier learning curve. There are trial versions of it available (and cracks if you are so inclined) and although it is now owned by Corel they have not had it long enough to fuck it up. It costs something like $50 and it does some shit that I wish they would add to photoshop.

GIMP has a windows version and is free. It's not as good as Photoshop but its free .... ITS FREE!!!!

here is a list of free graphics programs
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 09:34 AM   #716
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,021
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Corel Paint Shop Pro is not as easy to use as the old JASC version.

I found a JASC disc at Goodwill for $1.
Loaned it to my brother inlaw.Still waiting to get it back.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2007, 11:32 AM   #717
STUKA
Forum Member
 
STUKA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 166
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Referring to a previous post on this thread....my bad
You might check out Zone Alarm too. This is a software firewall program that stops any
outgoing traffic from your system and asks you if you want to permit it. If you are installing software and the system is checking for updates, then it's ok. But if you see a strange program that you have no idea what it is then you can block it right there!
A simple version is free on their website.
Jerry.....techie also

Last edited by STUKA; December 22nd, 2007 at 11:42 AM. Reason: referring to an earlier post on this thread
STUKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2008, 01:14 AM   #718
KurseD
Forum Member
 
KurseD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,065
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Regarding my Signature... everytime i edit my sig, it underlines everything like i'm posting a link. i've tried everything to make it stop and it still does it. i've clicked the font underline button a hundred times, still no luck?? anyone have any ideas?
__________________
KurseD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2008, 01:22 AM   #719
max16v
Forum Member
 
max16v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Palm Desert, California
Posts: 1,196
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Was it copied/pasted from somewhere? HTML?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
To err is human, to forgive is not my policy.
'56 Royal Enfield Super Meteor -The NorField
'69 T1 "Das Straßenzerstörer"
'86 Scirocco 16vT
max16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2008, 01:26 AM   #720
vintage-raze
Forum Member
 
vintage-raze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Camano Island WA
Posts: 862
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I have NO idea how to fix your problem.... But your sig is a link.... I can click the "quote" and it takes me to your intro
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Secrets are for FAGS.

Well, fags... and magic clowns.
vintage-raze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2008, 01:29 AM   #721
max16v
Forum Member
 
max16v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Palm Desert, California
Posts: 1,196
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Perhaps just starting from scratch and just typing what you want in?

There's some sort of html involved to have text link anywhere.

My .02
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
To err is human, to forgive is not my policy.
'56 Royal Enfield Super Meteor -The NorField
'69 T1 "Das Straßenzerstörer"
'86 Scirocco 16vT
max16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2008, 03:37 AM   #722
KurseD
Forum Member
 
KurseD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 1,065
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

well, i've tried all that as well, started from scratch, typed my own stuff in, everything else... for some reason now it looks as though it is fixed...

__________________
KurseD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2008, 03:41 AM   #723
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

looks fixed to me. let e know if there is anything else I can do for ya :D
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2008, 05:14 PM   #724
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,021
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Has anyone tried the new freebie Ad-Aware ?

Seems like they quit updating definitions on the older version.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2008, 03:53 AM   #725
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

just updated mine yesterday so what ever version it is its apparently newer then yours. It's the same as it always was, it works, its free.
__________________

Don't argue with idiots, people watching may not be able to tell the difference.
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer, computer help, computer help desk, pos computer, qwerty

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright ©2002 - 2020 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums