Cut-Weld-Drive Forums

Go Back   Cut-Weld-Drive Forums > The VolksRodders Forum > The Cutting Board

The Cutting Board Cut... Weld... DRIVE.


User Information
Your Avatar

Stuff to check out...

Cool stuff you NEED!

Forum Stats
Members: 17,576
Threads: 32,321
Posts: 546,197
Total Online: 599

Newest Member: Wozza

Latest Threads
- by bigguy

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 19th, 2008, 06:47 AM   #876
Turbo Punk
Forum Member
 
Turbo Punk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Member #1247 in Western Ma.
Posts: 10,307
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Well, to put it bluntly, I'm a computer dumbass. I'm just going to bring my laptop up to Circuit City and have them show me where they put the password and how to open the file. Since the guy "always" puts the password in a file , I'll let him show me where it is.

If that fails, I guess I'll have to either kick their asses or re-install my router. I'll see what they say before I do any thing.
Turbo Punk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 07:35 AM   #877
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

well before you go though all of that trouble rename the file from whateveritscalled.bin to whateveritscalled.txt (you can rename a file by highlighting it and hitting the F2 key and typing in the new name and hitting enter) and then either double click on it (or hit enter while it is highlighted) and see what happens when it opens in notepad.

it may just be a text file that the tech choose to name as a bin to disguise it.
__________________

Don't argue with idiots, people watching may not be able to tell the difference.
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 08:18 AM   #878
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,011
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I bet if you do get the file open,it says:


"Good Fucking Luck,Circuit City Sucks !"
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 08:50 AM   #879
Nick
Forum Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, BC (Canada)
Posts: 7,648
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Bringing in your laptop won't do anything to unlock your wireless router since the password is on the router itself, not your laptop.

Try the right-click --> open with --> WordPad or TextPad

In general the password should be 10 characters long, more commonly all numbers. That's the code to enter when a new device is trying to connect through your wireless router at home. That is your main problem, right? Trying to connect a new device at home?

Also just an FYI, to burn a (correct) CD image, open the CD burning program, then select OPEN IMAGE (or something similar) and find the .bin file
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 10:31 AM   #880
Turbo Punk
Forum Member
 
Turbo Punk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Member #1247 in Western Ma.
Posts: 10,307
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

The tech at Circuit City couldn't exactly help me out. He said the .bin file had nothing to do with it but he told me to call Linksys support to see if they can help.

I called and after 45 minutes I have a new password and can now log on to the internet with my iTouch as well as let my mom connect with her laptop when she visits again.


I only had to fly half way around the world to get help. I started out by visiting India for about 20 minutes where a very nice woman helped me as best she could before sending me to the Phillipines (sp?) where a guy who goes by the name SupaLeo got me up and running. Great guy. Nick, do you know him?

Thanks for all the help. Sorry I sent everybody the wrong way but I guess that's what happens when you put a dumbass in charge of giving directions.
Turbo Punk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 11:07 AM   #881
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,011
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo Punk View Post
...before sending me to the Phillipines (sp?) where a guy who goes by the name SupaLeo got me up and running. Great guy. Nick, do you know him?
Probably his brother.


Or maybe his Unkl.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2008, 01:51 PM   #882
Turbo Punk
Forum Member
 
Turbo Punk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Member #1247 in Western Ma.
Posts: 10,307
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Turbo Punk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 07:50 PM   #883
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,011
Question Re: O/T computer help desk thread

OK,making slow progress.I managed to build a crude
test web page using "Web Site Tonight" on Godaddy.com
I know it sucks right now,but I'm just using it to figure out
the process.Then i can make it better.

I have Nvu,so I can edit my own HTML stuff.
Seems easy enough. Maybe.

NOW: how do I get the HTML code from the page
I just published using Website Tonight ?

There was no option to Save as HTML.
Didn't see any HTML options,despite what the Help file said.

Just GUESSING that I want to copy the HTML code into Nvu,
make the changes I want,then "publish" from there.

No doubt this stuff makes sense,when you know how.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2008, 08:09 PM   #884
Nick
Forum Member
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Surrey, BC (Canada)
Posts: 7,648
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

When using an HTML editor, when you save it should save HTML files. If it doesn't, you must be using a bad HTML editor program and find a new one. I guess you could technically copy the code into a TXT file then rename the TXT file into HTML.

From the program, upload the HTML files (1 per page you made) into your website, usually under the "public_html" directory. By default the main page should be called index.html So if you go into that website folder it'll open the index.html file automatically, if not the visitor will have to type in the exact file name. IE: typing runtrod.com/index.html is the same as typing runtrod.com (no "index.html" needed to open the main starter page).
__________________

Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 11:04 AM   #885
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,011
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Still working on the Publishing stuff,
but I managed to hack this out on the slow assed
Godaddy "WebsSite Tonight" software.

http://www.Flyingeyeball.net

This is just a rough test,let me know what you think.
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 01:53 PM   #886
Steve White
Forum Member
 
Steve White's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Quinte Ontario
Posts: 1,511
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

hey thats coming along fine Unk. If you need a hand with anything let me know.
__________________

Don't argue with idiots, people watching may not be able to tell the difference.
Steve White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2008, 06:04 PM   #887
Unkl Ian
Trouble Maker and Bad Influence
 
Unkl Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: A distant galaxy;far,far,away.
Posts: 17,011
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Redid it with a different template.Getting closer.
----
In web site terms,what is an "anchor" and what would I use one for ?
__________________

www.FlyingEyeballs.net

Unkl Ian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2008, 09:36 AM   #888
tattooed_pariah
Site Supporter
 
tattooed_pariah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 3,877
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

USS Peleliu Public Affairs Division needs YOU!
(or a minute of your bandwidth more specifically..)

Long Story Short:
We need a patch from Microsuck that I can't download due to the restrictions on our network/idiocy of the Navy.

If anyone is running a genuine copy of windows and wouldn't mind downloading this update "WindowsXP-KB922120-v5-x86-ENU.exe" from here http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en and e-mailing it to me at hepburnm@lha5.navy.mil I'd appreciate it..

Short Story Long:
The Navy bought us two new photo editing workstations, but since these are brand new machines, they came preloaded with Vista Ultimate. This is my first Vista experience as I have been avoiding it like the plaque and already I wish I still had no experience with it. In order to get these two machines to recognize the existing XP machines on our network, we need that update file. These computers are all on a stand-alone network that can't access the internet or anything else on the ship. So i use one of our internet computers to locate that file and find out that the network restrictions are so tight that they won't allow the Microsoft Validation tools to run to verify that our Windows are legal.
So I call our computer department people and they tell me that we can't download updates because our licenses don't allow it. And even if we could get the file from MicroSuck, we aren't allowed to install it until it's been approved by the chain of command. I tell them it's on a stand-alone network and not their system and they say, "ok, but we still can't download anything from Microsoft, if you can find it on another site, we can help you get it."
I found it on one site, but it times-out when I try to download it (it's >1mb so I'm not sure why it's timing out..)
Which leaves me bugging you guys as a last resort. If no one can, it's no biggie, i'm not going to get in trouble for not getting it running and I'm not going to get any special recognition for going this far out of my way to get it running, I just figured I'd give the extra mile a try..

any who, sorry for the long post.. I can't wait to get home to my personal XP Pro machine.. maybe the 64-bit updates will be fairly decent by the time I get there since when I left a lot of things didn't work right yet..
__________________
-pariah

"I never trust a fighting man who doesn't smoke or drink or at least cause a little trouble." -Admiral William Frederick Halsey Jr.
===========
Feel free to stare and admire,
but kindly tell me if it's on fire!

1972 VolksRod "Effigy" Build Thread
1986 Honda Shadow VT1100 Work Thread

Last edited by tattooed_pariah; August 30th, 2008 at 09:39 AM. Reason: fixed the link
tattooed_pariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2008, 11:48 PM   #889
tattooed_pariah
Site Supporter
 
tattooed_pariah's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Glen Burnie, Maryland
Posts: 3,877
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Well, in less than 12 hours, i'll be back on land and among lots of other things, back on my own personal computer. As a bit of a geek, I read slashdot. org a lot when I can and it seems the latest trend with ISPs is to put bandwidth caps on your usage.

Personally, I use my internet for "educational" purposes (read: bittorent, surfing, games and chat) some instructional videos (or bittorent :P) use a TON of bandwidth. I decided to search for the EULA from Cox (my cable provider at my hosue) and I just found out that if we go over 60gb/month, we'll get charge extra per gb we go over. There's some times when I download files that are over a gig by themselves! since I am one of four residents, I'm sure we are going to easily break that cap.

Sorry for the long introductory paragraph, what I'm curious about is, does anyone know of any broadband ISPs that still offer TRUE unlimited access? I don't think any do, but I can be hopeful. lacking that, who does everyone recommend? I've heard horrible things of RoadRunner, so it's probably best they don't offer my area, Cox is a subsidiary of ComCast so they don't duplicate coverage and would have the same policies (actually, I think comcast and at&t are the pioneers in this capping BS..)
I don't know who else to research. anyone have any suggestions?
__________________
-pariah

"I never trust a fighting man who doesn't smoke or drink or at least cause a little trouble." -Admiral William Frederick Halsey Jr.
===========
Feel free to stare and admire,
but kindly tell me if it's on fire!

1972 VolksRod "Effigy" Build Thread
1986 Honda Shadow VT1100 Work Thread
tattooed_pariah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 12:29 PM   #890
hal
Forum Member
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: brentwood nor. ca.
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

need a little help here .... we moved the PC home , my oldest help me hook it all up . now i have no sound

thanks .
__________________
wow....you guys can delete 'em faster than i can post 'em..... GOOD JOB
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 12:31 PM   #891
purplemyth
moody witch
 
purplemyth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: central ga.
Posts: 12,169
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

I'd say, shut the system down and restart. If it worked before, should work again.
If it was plugged in while system is on and operating, it may not recognise it.
__________________
1,2,.............. .
Like it, Click it, support it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishguts
My attraction to volksrods is that these are bottom-feeders where things are still real ... people scraping together parts, doing their own work and often on a tight budget. Real hot rodding is still alive here.
purplemyth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 12:45 PM   #892
Mikelrome
Forum Member
 
Mikelrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: AmrilloTexas
Posts: 3,859
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by hal View Post
need a little help here .... we moved the PC home , my oldest help me hook it all up . now i have no sound

thanks .
Turn the volume up.
__________________
Hot dogs are good !
"That thing's gona look nice when he's done"
"It is done, Thats how them people like them"

Mikelrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 12:59 PM   #893
hal
Forum Member
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: brentwood nor. ca.
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikelrome View Post
Turn the volume up.


thanks... i knew i could count on you





..... maybe the puter is ok ... i just can't here shit
__________________
wow....you guys can delete 'em faster than i can post 'em..... GOOD JOB
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 01:04 PM   #894
bugdust
Forum Member
 
bugdust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Middleburg, FL USA
Posts: 8,811
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

You probably just have the speakers hooked up in the wrong port.



Does anyone here know anything about writing macros in excel? I've written a few but I'm having a problem getting them to work on worksheets other than the one I created them in...in the same workbook. I'm trying a simple copy & paste one to try to figure it out before getting more complicated. If the image is on the page, it will work. But, if the image isn't on the page (just on the first page), then it doesn't work. I get the END or DEBUG dialog box. If I hit DEBUG, it highlights the "activesheet" line in the script but I'm not sure what to change it to.
__________________
my photobucket page

Quote:
No pics, but oh well, if you really, really need to see metal removed, turn off your computer and work on your car... ~ Ray-Dean
bugdust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 01:06 PM   #895
Mikelrome
Forum Member
 
Mikelrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: AmrilloTexas
Posts: 3,859
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

There should be a black dot on the back, and a black wire on the speaker thing. plug the black wire in the black dot.

Thats how a dude had to tell me when I called the help line.
__________________
Hot dogs are good !
"That thing's gona look nice when he's done"
"It is done, Thats how them people like them"

Mikelrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 02:18 PM   #896
tequilla
Forum Member
 
tequilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Layin' low........ sippin' slow
Posts: 2,259
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Plug the speakers into the little round green port....... if they still don't work then say screw it and have a few beers
__________________
VW INC.

'67 Baja

'63 T-Bird

Devils Plaything

Share your cheese....... here kitty, kitty.......
tequilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 02:49 PM   #897
hal
Forum Member
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: brentwood nor. ca.
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

i shut it down , rebooted, all kinda shit .... it was plugged in the wrong place.....


she's cute ... but she's still blond
__________________
wow....you guys can delete 'em faster than i can post 'em..... GOOD JOB
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 08:20 PM   #898
Mikelrome
Forum Member
 
Mikelrome's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: AmrilloTexas
Posts: 3,859
Member Photo Albums
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by hal View Post
i shut it down , rebooted, all kinda shit .... it was plugged in the wrong place.....


she's cute ... but she's still blond
Thank God!!!!!!!!
Nothing gets to me worse than some thing wrong with the computer. Other than some old dude having problems with his.
__________________
Hot dogs are good !
"That thing's gona look nice when he's done"
"It is done, Thats how them people like them"

Mikelrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2008, 06:02 AM   #899
hal
Forum Member
 
hal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: brentwood nor. ca.
Posts: 3,305
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

thanks for the help......even you mikelrome
__________________
wow....you guys can delete 'em faster than i can post 'em..... GOOD JOB
hal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2008, 01:45 PM   #900
ratlook63
Forum Member
 
ratlook63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pittsburgh Pa.
Posts: 2,994
Default Re: O/T computer help desk thread

Hey hey, perhaps some of you might be able to help me out.

I can't seem to acess google or gmail on any of the computers in my house. All other websites work fine and we can get on gmail from my neighbors computer. Any idea what might be going on?
__________________
"Go get a six pack and some fresh blades/cutting wheels, by beer 4 you'll be halfway done.

If you make it to beer 6 without cutting anything you need to be doing something else." - MrChainsaw


Wanted:
Split tail lights. Repop ok!
Split dash pods or measurements to make my own. Repop ok!

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

My Band
http://www.myspace.com/safetynautguaranteed
ratlook63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computer, computer help, computer help desk, pos computer, qwerty

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ALL text, images, graphics and content herein are Copyright 2002 - 2013 Three Pugs Design - Cut Weld Drive Forums